Asylum Forums Pages (23): [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » ... Last »
Show all 574 posts from this thread on one page

Asylum Forums (http://asylumnation.com/asylum/index.php)
- The Lost Forum (http://asylumnation.com/asylum/forumdisplay.php?forumid=3)
-- Chicago or Seattle? (http://asylumnation.com/asylum/showthread.php?threadid=45306)

Posted by BROKEN_LADDER on 08-02-2006 10:09 AM:

Chicago or Seattle?

Hey folks,

I was just hoping to draw upon the Asylum's collective wisdom. My girlfriend wants to go to grad school for English, and we've pretty much got it nailed down to Seattle or Chicago. She's leaning toward Chicago, and I'm leaning toward Seattle.

I've been to Chicago a few times in my life, but I don't remember it extremely well. Seattle I've never been to, but I'm 3 hours south of it, in Portland, so I know the geography, culture, and climate of the northwest, and I think I'd really like Seattle. I'm also a musician, and I'm obsessed with Seattle's musical history. Just saw Pearl Jam a few weeks ago.

What I'm wanting to know is what those of you who've been to both places think about them, and what advice you'd give if you lived in either location.

I'm socially liberal, economically conservative, vegan, a musician, an atheist...I love Indian/Burmese/Thai/Ethiopian/etc. food. I hate winter with a passion I cannot describe, and I think 50 degrees is super cold.

I think I should be in the northwest...but the question is, do I think that with such strength that I'd demand my girlfriend move with me to Seattle instead of my moving to Chicago to be with her?

Thanks folks...

TAXATION = THEFT
GOVERNMENT = MAFIA

Posted by bacidath on 08-02-2006 10:13 AM:

chicago is run by the "family" and all that union based work

Refers to the part consisting of leather horse ass never seen a dense fibrous tissue.

Posted by bacidath on 08-02-2006 10:14 AM:

i dont think you would be happy there..you would have plenty of people to fight with though