The Asylum   Search Private Messages Options Blogs Images Chat Cam Portals Calendar FAQ's Join  
Asylum Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 Asylum Forums > The Lost Forum > -innovation and inspiration-
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread [new thread]    [post reply]
Inky
-------------------------

Lightbulb -innovation and inspiration-

it seems to me that what passes as new and innovative, particularly in the arts, is mostly inspired and influenced by what came before.

As an artist myself, I know that i look at certain things, other art, or nature, and while i will be excited by it, and perhaps even be influenced when creating my own work, I know that i am not copying or taking the bits and pieces I like, but rather reinterpreting it...for example, i often will use a technique that was meant for one material and application and use it for another entirely. and while there may be that spark of innovation, it is still heavily influenced by my environment. I often wonder how pure my "original" ideas are.

I'm sure that innovation exists, but i am curious as to where we see the most innovation, the freshest ideas, things that have never been seen before.

And i am curious as well about our origins, in the beginning, when there was no one who came before, where did inspiration come from? they say that necessity is the mother of invention, but how does one, with nothing before him, make that connection of need to solution?

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 03-18-2002 12:17 PM
Inky is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Inky Click here to Send Inky a Private Message Find more posts by Inky Add Inky to your buddy list [P] Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
YaNkEEs
bahh

I'd put mine up but mine is to fluffy and cutsy for you guys... or atleast I think ... plus I can't find the camera that has all of it on it .... /me cries

Old Post 03-18-2002 04:46 PM